Notes from the GLS

It’s been a full day at the Global Leadership Summit hosted by Willowcreek Church.  We have 6 staffers from ECC.  It’s great to be able to learn together and process how we can grow together and seek first the kingdom.  So here are a few notes from the first day…

Bill Hybels is the senior pastor of Willowcreek and he challenged us in a couple different ways…

  1.  “Armed with enough humility, leaders can learn from anyone.”  This is a great reminder.  We should NEVER stop learning and we can learn from ANYONE.  We can learn from students, grandparents and even unbelievers.  Let’s be humble and learn….
  2. “Spend 15 min every morning reading/reflect on your life.”  How can we do this?  Journal?  Yes.  I have realized that I need to get back to journaling and ask the following questions:  Who am I becoming?  Am I surrendered to God?
  3. “Am I leading at home as well as I’m leading at work?”  We need to lead well and love well at home.  So for me, I am asking myself, “What plans do I need to make?”

Fredrik Haren is a business creativity expert from Sweden and now lives in Asia.  I was a bit skeptical, but he was great.  He ended his talk with this challenge:

  • “Create!-you do this by doing creative things yourself as a leader because people are inspired to be creative.”  This is a great challenge for me.   I want people to think, “If he can do it.  I can do it!”  And when we create, we are modeling our Creator God.  Let’s create.

Brian Stevenson is a lawyer in Birmingham, Alabama.  He defends children and inmates on death-row.  He challenged us to take 4 steps.

1.  Get close in proximity to broken people.  This will give you compassion and passion.
2.  Change the Narrative.  Many times we make decisions based on our story of the world.  We have a story of redemption.  Let’s work to love people to bring about change.
3.  Stay hopeful.  Living with broken people is hard.  Stay hopeful.
4.  Do uncomfortable things.  The world is a dark place and it’s hard, but we must do hard, uncomfortable things.  Jesus came to earth to die…we are called to live in the same way.
I don’t know if those things grabbed you, but I something jumped out to you.  Let’s all lead together as we glorify God and help others worship.
Leave a Reply

