New Song: Center My Life

Yesterday, I attended a conference where a speaker said,

“We want to live now, with the end in mind.”

In other words, we want to live as followers of Jesus now with heaven in mind.
How do we do that?
I think when we live in the light of the gospel, we become centered in Jesus.  When something is “centered”, it is grounded.  It is stable.  It is secure.  It is balanced.
We want to live that way today.  But at the same time, we are pulled to things that draw us away from God and a picture of heaven.  As crazy as it sounds, we are drawn away from our center.  This weekend, we are going learn a song that confesses our tendency to turn away, but also helps center our lives on Jesus.
First, the cry to God to help us focus our eyes on Jesus, our center.  As Psalm 119:37 states,
Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to your word.

VERSE 1:
Turn my eyes to see you Jesus, in all your glory – turn my eyes

Tune my heart to sing in wonder, of how you love me – tune my heart

You might recognize the second line.  It’s a shout out to the hymn, “Come, Thou Fount of Ever Blessing” by Robert Robinson.  The original lyric is “tune my heart to sing Thy grace”.  Moving onto the pre-chorus we shift the focus to praising the God who rules, reigns and delights in his children singing…

I will declare your name to my people; in the assembly I will praise you.

PRE-CHORUS:
Ohhh, my God, forever You reign

Here and now, hear the sound of Your Name

Then the chorus helps us center specifically on Jesus.  The psalms and apostle John remind us of his beauty and power…

…perfect in beauty, God shines forth.
Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God

CHORUS:
Jesus, there is none more beautiful

Than Jesus, there is none more powerful
The risen Christ lifted high, Jesus now be glorified
Center my life on Your name, center my life on Your name

One of the song’s authors also talked about the basis for the chorus…

“In this life, our eyes are always drawn to lesser glories that tend to serve our
name and our renown.  So we sing, ‘Jesus, center my life on Your
name,’ a cry that remembers the miserable slavery of self-love and
begs God to turn us from the lesser lights of success, beauty, wealth,
fame, comfort, and fleeting happiness.” -Jon Dansby

VERSE 2:
Turn my eyes away from searching for lesser glory – turn my eyes

Teach my heart with all your wisdom to live for Heaven – teach my heart

The second line there is a perfect example of “His Word/Our Walk” and again reminds us to live today in the light of heaven.

So as we sing, we ask God to help center our lives on Jesus.  We ask God to do it again and again as we are tempted by dull, worthless things.  May we all keep the end of heaven in mind as we live today.  May we center our lives on the risen and exalted Jesus…his beauty and power…so that we may live lives centered on his name.

Leave a Reply

