Rejoice and Weep…

This past week, I held my son against my chest as he slept and thought, “This is as good as it gets…”

Later, I was in the ER with a friend who was in a desperate situation.

It was a week of opposites in which our family experienced both highs and lows.  It seemed strange, but then I thought about this passage from Romans that holds the same seeming conflict of emotions.  Paul writes,

Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.  Live in harmony with one another.  Do not be haughty, but associate with the lowly.  Never be wise in your own sight…Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good. -Romans 12:15-16, 21

As I drove away from the hospital on my way home, I realized that even as I was rejoicing over a new son, I still needed to enter into other people’s hurt and pain without telling them to “get over it”.  I needed to weep with those who weep and try to overcome the evil with good.

I hope that we will see the love of Jesus in each other in joy and pain.  That’s what I want to see…in me…in you.

Leave a Reply

