Waiting for a Baby…

We are still waiting for the phone call telling us that our baby is being born.  When that happens, I’m going to load my wife in the car and drive like crazy.

Because of that, I’ve been thinking about adoption again and find my mind turning to James 1:26-27 which says,

“If anyone thinks he is religious and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his heart, this person’s religion is worthless. Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.”

As an adoptive dad, I am discovering every day what that means.  I am living out the gospel as I raise a little girl who doesn’t share my blood or skin color, but is my daughter in every way.  This is exactly what God did for everyone who believe in Jesus for salvation.  We are all adopted by no merit of our own.  And that reality is reshaping my life…

However, as I looked back at the verse I realize that I have been skipping vs 26.  “If anyone thinks he is religious and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his heart, this person’s religion is worthless.”  Ouch.  It’s easy for me to preach about adoption, but how often do I let my tongue get the better of me?  More than I’d like to admit, but James is very pointed about this.  And he’s not the only one.  Many other scripture writers point out that the tongue is an issue for all of us.  It is the smallest part of the body, but can cause the most problems.

As I reflect on it, I think it’s almost easier to be an adoptive dad day to day than it is to keep my tongue in check.  It is HARD to do.  But I don’t get to choose.  That’s the HARD part about the gospel.  That’s the HARD part about true religion.  It’s keeping my tongue in check AND caring for orphans and widows AND keeping myself unstained.  And that is going to give me plenty to think about…until our baby comes…

Leave a Reply

