New Song: I’m Going Free (Jailbreak)

IMG_1018I was driving to work after dropping my daughter off at school.  The sun was a huge ball of orange and was sitting on the horizon surrounded by orange, red and pink clouds and I had a realization…

I love Jesus.

I know it sounds like a basic part of being a Christian, but it’s true.  And there is a reason I love Jesus.  The reason starts with sin.

There is a penalty for sin.  God told us in Genesis that if we sin, then we die.  The whole sacrificial system in the Torah is based on this.  Paul says the same thing later in the New Testament.  The amazing thing is that when Jesus went to the cross, he went in our place to pay that penalty for sin.  Jesus suffered what we should have suffered.  We love Jesus so much because he took our place.

But the big idea of the cross is substitution.  He took our penalty and gave us his innocence.  The other idea is that sin separates us from God and puts us in the chains of bondage.  But again, because of Jesus our sin is taken away and we are given life and true freedom.  As One pastor as said, “He died the death we should have died and gives the gift we could not earn on our own.”  That’s the basic theology behind the song we’re learning this weekend!  It starts in the courtroom of heaven…

V1:  Go on and speak against my borrowed innocence
The judge is my defense, I’m going free
Right when the gavel fell, I heard the freedom bell
Ring through the heart of hell, I’m going free
I’m going free

Or in other words, “For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” (2 Corinthians 5:21)

And the only right response is a song of praise and thanks like Miriam and the Israelites freed from slavery in Egypt…

Ch: Glory, glory, hallelujah
You threw my shackles in the sea
Glory, glory, hallelujah
Jesus is my liberty
I’m going free

We move onto our life as believers as we sing from Matthew 7:12-14,

“Enter through the narrow gate.  For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it.  But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”

V2: I won’t go back again, that’s just not who I am
Lord, I’m a brand new man, I’m going free
I’m on a narrow road, it’s paved with grace and hope
It’s gonna lead me home, I’m going free
I’m going free

This song is obviously based on specific scriptures so as we move into the bridge, we declare the words of the gospel “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” -John 8:36

Br: I am free, I am free indeed
We are free, free indeed

And like many hymns and gospel songs, we look forward to the promise of heaven.  However it happens, we will one day be in the perfect presence of God because of the love of God in Jesus…Glory, glory…

V3: Someday I’ll fly away on Your amazing grace
Your love is my jailbreak, I’m going free

Leave a Reply

