A Story Journey

I am a storyteller.

Sometimes I wave my hands around and shout or whisper.  I use different voices and work for the punchline or slow things down for dramatic effect.

The latest story telling event was this morning at breakfast.  “So, what’s going on with you this week?”  And BAM, we were in the middle of a story full of work stress, finding time for spouses and craziness with kids who have so much ENERGY!

IMG_1141

Speaking of energy…last night, Sara and I were at the pool for Eliana’s swim practice (Swim practice is a new thing for us, but that’s another story!).  It had been a hard day with friends at school and business at work.

“What do you think we should do?”

“I don’t know.  What do you think?”

We didn’t know what to do.  So, we stood up to run an errand together when we were stopped.

“I saw you here earlier this week and didn’t say anything,” she said, “but I know you from church…”

And BAM, we were into another story.  However, this time, we were listening and hearing truth that just happened to dovetail with what we were talking about.

“We homeschooled for two years and then started back in an organized school this year.  It’s been a really good fit…Swimming is something that has been really good for our kids, but you can’t force them to do it.  If your daughter is still trying to decide, maybe she should take a break and see if she wants to jump back in starting in January?”

We didn’t get all the answers, but we also knew that we weren’t alone.

We tell stories all the time…however, our life stories have greater meaning and are empowered when they are connected to God’s story, the great narrative of scripture.  This year, I want to tell the incredible stories of God.  I want to enjoy them, to share them and most importantly, to come to know the God that is revealed by them.

So why Biblical Storytelling…?

I have realized that Biblical Storytelling is a resource for our lives. (Your word have I hid in my heart!)  Over a year ago, we presented the Gospel of Mark in the round and I played the part of Jesus.  Memorizing the words of Jesus was transformative.  I found that as I was memorizing every night at home, the words would come out in conversation during the day.  As stories would come up, I would say, “It’s funny you mention that because I was just learning this story about Jesus and and this is what he did…”  And BAM, we were into a story…

This weekend, we are continuing storytelling in our church services.  We will tell the story of the Transfiguration and the power of God displayed in Jesus himself.

When we do this, there is a sense in which the Word of God, Jesus, is speaking His words through us.  He is telling us the story of his own Transfiguration and we are better able to experience it in a way that affirms the reality of the event and God’s presence.  God is with us in our storytelling!  And that level of storytelling is a real resource for our lives.

IMG_1092

Tonight, we are having friends over for dinner and campfire.  I expect that we will tell some stories about what God is doing in their lives and what he’s doing in our lives.  God will be there with us.

By the way, can I tell you story?

Leave a Reply

