Loving Karin…

FB logoIt all started with a group message from a college friend on Facebook Messenger…

Hello.  Sorry for the group message.  I know they can be annoying.  I am sleepless tonight and had it to send this message to some of my college friends who might be interested.  I am sure I missed some. Anyways, the last few months have been very tough for me (and my family) but we are for sure hanging in there.  Finally got a diagnosis of advanced stage diffuse large B-cell Lymphoma.  I am looking forward to starting chemo next week as my oncologist said she believes the cancer symptoms I am walking through all this time should be greatly diminished after my first chemo! Yay! A full night sleep and a walk around the block with my wife and kids might be in store in the near future! Good news is that even though the disease is advanced the prognosis is still positive! Please feel free to join your faith and thoughts and prayers with ours for a smooth and successful months of chemo and ultimately my full recovery…

Love and Blessings to you all, In Christ.

And that was how it all started.

A simple message, but suddenly I was thrust back 10 years, before everyone knew Facebook, to my own cancer diagnosis.  It was 2005 and I was having sleepless nights due to the of pain in my back.  Then I was diagnosed with cancer and starting my own round of chemo in the research wing of the IU Medical Cancer Center…the clear liquid dripping slowly into my veins…killing cancer and all other slow growing cells in it’s path.  And after the first days of weeks of diagnosis, the flood of messages, cards, visits…love.

Back on Facebook, the messages started pouring in as college friends wrote messages of love and support.  And I realized that this is one of the ways the church of Jesus, whether it starts at a christian college or in a local church, shares the gospel.  We love each other in hard times.  Jesus said it this way,

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.  By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” -John 13:34-35

1972464_10201914114997062_3266543713750419811_nMeanwhile, I was sending other Facebook messages to someone else:  Karin Sherbahn.  Karin is one of our keyboard players at Emmanuel on Saturday nights.  A couple weeks ago, she had an emergency surgery and also experienced complications.  She is back in surgery today!  I realized in sending encouragement this week that we could be living out what Jesus said by loving Karin.  So here are a few suggestions.

  1. Pray.  Never discount prayer.  Let me encourage all of us to pray for Karin.  But don’t stop there…
  2. Words.  Also never underestimate the power of written love and encouragement.  You can email Karin at play4him2003@yahoo.com.
  3. Financial Support.  Karin’s daughter has set up a GoFund page to help her mom with the medical bills.  If you can help her out, click here!
  4. Food.  We are going to put together a meal plan for Karin over the next few weeks.  Stay tuned for more info next week!

I shouldn’t need a Facebook message to remind me of God’s love for me and for others.

But then again, why not?

 

 

Leave a Reply

