New Worship Arts Staff!

A couple weeks ago, we announced that Chris Kuntz is leaving us for another position.  As he leaves us for the next chapter in his ministry, we are saying good-bye and praying that God will continue to build his kingdom at Hope Missionary.  But that also leaves a question for us here at ECC:  what next?  And the answer is Jason Holliday.  That might surprise you, but as Emmanuel has grown, Jason’s been looking for a chance to develop other ministry skills and we believe this is the right fit at the right time.  So, let’s get to know Jason!  I’ve asked him to share about himself as we look towards the beginning of June when he starts leading in the FLC.

JasonOk Jason, I know you’re surprised, but let’s talk about role models.  Who have been the most influential people in your life?

When I was growing up, I always wanted to be like my dad!  He has always been passionate about sharing the Gospel with others, and so in that regard, he has been a great role model.  Now-a-days, there are several pastors/ Christian leaders who are large influences upon my life through their books and sermons: Craig Groeschel, John Maxwell, Carey Nieuwhof, Andy Stanley.

So who’s your favorite Christian artist or songwriter right now?

Wow, not sure I have a favorite.  I like a wide variety of musical styles.  When I’m in the hip hop mood, I like Group 1 Crew and TobyMac.  When I’m in the a cappella mood, I like listening to the group Go Fish.  AND there’s David Phelps, whose voice always blows me away!

Ok…just for fun–Favorite 80’s song? (or maybe we should say ’90s now?)

I don’t have a favorite 80’s or 90’s song because I was a sheltered, baptist kid.  However, whenever I needed pumped up for a big game, I karate_kid2would listen to “Your the Best Around” from Karate Kid.  Just picture me singing at the top of my lungs, “Your the best around, nothin’s gonna ever keep you down” while jumping around and pumping my fists in the air.  I may just start doing that before worship from now on!

I can believe it!  So, how did God lead you to transition towards Worship and Outreach at ECC?

I was heavily involved in music ministry in my college years.  I graduated with an Educational Ministries degree and minored in Vocal Performance. So, this seems like a natural transition for me. In my fifteen years of working in church ministry, I’ve worked as a youth pastor, children’s pastor and family pastor.  Because I have a passion for the mission of the church, I tend to move to various areas of ministry within the church for certain seasons of life, wherever I feel God can best use me to further that mission. 

Without thinking…favorite book of the Bible or favorite verse?

Without thinking TOO much, I would have to say John 3:16 and Matthew 22:37-40.  I believe as Christians, we sometimes tend to overcomplicate things and add various elements to the Gospel and the Christian life.  If I only had these two passages of Scripture, I would know how to come to Christ (or more accurately how he came to me) and how to live a life that pleases God.

Why don’t you describe your devotions.  What time do you wake up in the morning?

I’m a morning person, so I usually get up between 5:30-6:00.  Most mornings are spent in prayer, reading the Word and enjoying a strong cup of coffee!  This doesn’t happen every morning, but as I’ve discovered, starting my day off focused on Christ, will help me walk with him throughout the day.

What books are you currently reading in these categories: for learning and fun?

I usually have one fiction and one leadership/ministry focussed book going at any given time.  I’m currently reading Chazown: Define Your Vision. Pursue Your Passion. Live Your Life on Purpose by Craig Groeschel and Transfer of Power by Vince Flynn.

What’s the best book you’ve read that has helped you grow as a believer?

Another hard question!  I would have to list a whole bunch, so I will give you the most recent: Christianish: What if We are not Following Jesus at All? by Mark Steele.

So, what single bit of counsel has made the most significant difference in your life?

Sam, once again, too hard!  Probably…

In light of eternity, what matters most?  So, live with the end in mind.

What else do you do for fun?

I enjoy hanging out with my family, reading and training for triathlons.

Ok, I think that’s enough grilling for now!  However, let me say that I’m thrilled that Jason has agreed to join us and believe that we will be able to continue to “glorify God and help others worship”!  Remember, Jason will start in June and lead us Saturday nights and Sunday mornings in the FLC.  

See you then! 

Leave a Reply

