Transitioning…

Stay with me.

You all know Chris Kuntz and today I want to give him a chance to share a little bit about himself.  Some of this info, you probably know already, but even after working around someone for 4 years you might have forgotten some of the basic “Chris info”.  So we’re going to jump in and ask Chris a few questions.

ckuntzSo Chris, think back and tell us again how you came to follow Christ…

I am blessed to have been raised in a Christian home, and so being a PK  (that’s “preachers kid”), all my life I have attended church and have been taught about Christ and His life changing message.

What do you usually do for fun?

I love to sit and talk with friends around a fire, playing cards, watching movies. I reserve times of fishing for when I need to make a very serious decision. Occasionally I like to make video/short films and write new songs.

Ok, so that’s a transition.  I don’t know if you’ve been fishing a lot lately, but there is a change coming up for you and your family, right?

Yes.  4 1/2 years ago I left my job at a small church on the North side of Fort Wayne and came to Emmanuel as a volunteer looking to learn how to be a better worship pastor.  I had been leading for 14 years in small churches, church plants and it was time for me to learn so that I could eventually go back out and continue to lead. I have seen God moving in our lives over the past few months and He has opened many doors.  The training I have received, and the many opportunities I have experienced here at Emmanuel have prepared me for the next chapter of ministry as a worship pastor.

Now, I have accepted a position as lead worship pastor at Hope Missionary Church in Bluffton and will start June 1.

We are going to miss you, but know that God is calling you and your family to Hope Missionary.  Is there anything you’ve learned about ministry?

Two things.  First, communicate, communicate, communicate. Just when you think you said it enough, say it again. It’s hard to remember this but it doesn’t take long to figure out its necessary. 

Secondly, leading worship is a privilege not a right. I am blessed to have been picked by God to represent Him in this way and I should never for one minute think that I deserve to have this responsibility. It is a gift of God, and therefore I want to give it my all, my everything, to honor Him and give Him the glory.

I couldn’t agree more.  Is there anything you would like to say to us?

The relationships I have been blessed with here at ECC have been amazing and I will greatly miss serving with you, but I know that if God is leading my family and I to Hope, then He has a plan for ECC as well.  From the bottom of my heart, I want to say thank you for all the hours you put into making worship here at ECC authentic and God honoring.

Thank you for allowing me to serve with you over the past 4 years. I will miss serving with you, but I look forward to the future, ours and yours!

As I said before, we are going to miss Chris.  He has been a vital part of our ministry for the past 4 years!  I’m excited to see what God will continue to do through him in his new position!  Make sure to say “good-bye” to Chris over the next few weeks.

We are also planning our semi-annual “Golden Good-bye w/ Tape Awards” on Sunday, May 31 after 2nd service in the FLC.  This is the last time Chris will lead at ECC and we are going to remember the years together as we send him out.  Thanks, Chris!

One thought on “Transitioning…

Leave a Reply

