New Song: Made Alive

Finding songs that are biblically based, upbeat and fit our church is a real challenge for us.

I mean we can find songs that are based on scripture, but many have boring music.

We can find songs that have a great beat and you can dance to, but the lyrics are cotton-candy.  Don’t get me wrong, cotton candy can taste good, but if you eat it all the time there’s a problem!  “Made Alive”, the song we are learning this weekend, is the exception:   a dance tune with deep lyrics coming straight from Ephesians 2!  Zach Bolen, the author, writes,

phpThumb_generated_thumbnailjpgWe wanted to write a song about us being made alive together in Christ, and a total acknowledgment that it is by the grace of God that we’ve been saved.  That concept unifies all of us in the Church.*

Yes!  And like I said, it comes straight from Ephesians 2.  It says, 

As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient…And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. -Ephesians 2:1, 6

Vs1: I once was dead in sin, alone, and hopeless
A child of wrath I walked, condemned in darkness
But your mercy brought new life, and in your love and kindness
Raised me up with Christ, and made me righteous

I think part of the reason I love the lyrics is that it tells the truth.  For example, that verse clearly says we were children of wrath doomed to darkness, but it also speaks of the amazing hope in Jesus.  The chorus jumps back to verse 4:  But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved. -Eph 2:4

Ch: You have bought me back with the riches of
Your amazing grace and relentless love
I’m made alive forever with you, life forever
By your grace I’m saved, by your grace I’m saved

The 2nd verse jumps back again to verse 3 as we realize that even though we are saved, we sometimes forget who we have become:  All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our flesh  and following its desires and thoughts.  Like the rest, we were by nature deserving of wrath.-Eph 2:3

Vs2: Lord, you are the light that broke the darkness
You satisfy my soul when I am heartless
If ever I forget my true identity
Show me who I am and help me to believe

Bridge: My sin has been erased
I’ll never be the same!

The bridge jumps all the way back to Romans which tells us, Because we trusted in Christ, the record of our sins has been erased-Romans 5:1

There are so many good lines in this song.  For me, this song is a challenge to think about whether I really believe that Jesus will “satisfy my soul when I am heartless.”  And “heartless” could mean the way I treat others OR it could mean when I don’t have a living heart because of the death sin brings.
Even though they may be hard to find, songs like “Made Alive” help us remember our true identity.  We are not found in what we do or don’t do, but in who we are in Jesus.  We are those who have been saved.  That’s something to dance about!
“By His grace I’m saved.  Woooooo!”
*Quote from New Release Tuesday online, http://www.newreleasetuesday.com/article.php?article_id=1071, accessed on Oct 10, 2014.
Leave a Reply

