New Song: Lord, I Need You

This weekend is Mother’s Day.  Earlier this week, my wife wrote about some of the emotions that come with the day.

14138191065_53f6287758_b

Some women long to be mothers but deal with infertility.

Some women are dealing with the death of a child.

Some women are dealing with the death of a mother or mother-in-law.

Some women are dealing with a mother who left them with emotional baggage.

Some women are dealing with the loss of a child because they gave them up for adoption.

And that’s the short list.

Our lives are broken and it’s only in the person of Jesus that we find hope and healing.  So this weekend, we are learning a new song that acknowledges that ALL OF US are in need of the Lord.  It’s called, “Lord, I Need You” and part of the reason I love this song is that it broadens the definition of “need”.  We are aware of our need in brokenness, but it’s equally true the rest of the time.  We are just unaware of how needy we really are.  One of the song-writers, Matt Mahr, said this about it.

In your joy, you need to still say, ‘Lord, I need You, oh I need You, every hour I need You,’—not just in your brokenness and darkest times. I think that’s a struggle for people.

There are two main scriptures that this song is based on that I want to share.  The first verse speaks to our need in good times and bad.  Psalm 40:17 (The Voice) says this,

“Meanwhile, I am empty and need so much, but I know the Lord is thinking of me. You are my help; only You can save me, my True God. Please hurry.”

I love that version of the verse.  “Only You can save me, my True God.  Please hurry.”  The next verse speaks to what we really need.  Too many times, I think I need to be saved from my situation:  I need healing.  I need a better job.  I need a better family relationship.  I need…

No, what I need is Christ in me.

…God chose to make known how great among the Gentiles are the riches of the glory of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. –Colossians 1:27

My challenge for you this weekend is to ask yourself if you believe what you are singing.  Here are a few questions from Matt Mahr to consider…

Do you acknowledge that you need God every hour?

Do you recognize that God wants us to lean into Him?

As you ask yourself the questions, let the truth of the song sink into you.  As a follower of Jesus, holiness, which is becoming like him and being set apart for God’s will, is only found through Jesus Christ living in you.

So for all of us (mothers, fathers, sisters, brothers, wives, husbands, children)…let’s realize that in our brokenness and in our strength, Jesus is our one defense and righteousness.

Lord, we need you.

 

Leave a Reply

