New Song: God is Able

What do you do when you have all questions and no answers?

What do you do when your heart is restless?

What do you do when you believe, but you need help with your unbelief?

What do you do when darkness is your only friend?

What do you do?

I have been there many times.  Anxiety.  Fear.  Cancer.  Long-term illness.  Death.

And then there are those days when there isn’t a tragic event hanging over my head, but I still miss God’s presence.  There are days when everything seems to be piling up against me.  No apparent reason, but it’s still very real.  There is an anxiety and restlessness that can grip you.  And I don’t think I’m alone…

While it might seem counter-intuitive, I believe that many times we need to act and trust that our state of being/our feelings will change.  Our situation might not change, but our actions can begin a change through the power of God.  For me, singing  songs of faith and trust, peace and hope, suffering and trials is that action…I realize singing doesn’t scratch an itch for everyone, but it does for me…it connects my head and heart, my reason with my emotions…

This Sunday, we are learning one of those songs.  It comes straight from Ephesians 3:20-21…

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

God is Able
He will never fail
He is almighty God

Now if you’re like me, you’re wondering what the lyricist meant by “able”.  Is it just my to-do list?  Because if that’s all it is, our God might be better off working on world-peace or something bigger.  But in this case, there is something bigger…salvation of the world…of you…me…

…he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them.-Hebrews 7:25

And that’s not all…

Greater than all we seek
Greater than all we ask
He has done great things

Lifted up, He defeated the grave
raised to life, our God is able
In His name, we overcome
For the Lord, our God is able

There it is.  He’s defeated sin and death.

And then the bridge, the climax of the song, helps us understand what we get:  at the end…it’s not always healing, completion of the to-do list, or peace of mind or answers.  In fact, you might not get any of that.  No, what we get is God himself.  Emmanuel.  God is with us and will never leave or forsake us.  Our God is able.  Amen.

God is with us
He will go before
He will never leave us
He will never leave us

Leave a Reply

