Come, Long Expected Jesus

I’ve been searching for real advent music this season.  (Here is my current Advent play list if you’re curious!)  Maybe it’s just me, but this week I’m feeling a little more like Scrooge than Bob Crachit.

the Grinch than the Who’s.

the Abominable Snowman than Rudolph.

Mr. Potter than George Bailey.

And that is the perfect place to be for Advent.  It’s messy, it’s broken, it’s dirty, it’s the world we live in.  And it’s into that pile of mess that Jesus came.  But it’s not just past tense.  He comes now…and he’s coming again.  For me, that means cultivating a sense of active expectation.

So speaking of advent tunes, I gave a swing at an old carol, Come Thou Long Expected Jesus.  I followed some musical cues from the Robbie Seay band and Phil Wickham to throw together this demo of the song.  I hope you enjoy it as you look for…

freedom from sin,

rest for your soul,

hope for the earth,

joy for your heart,

grace for your debts,

and rest for your restlessness.

Come, thou long expected Jesus,

born to set thy people free; 

from our fears and sins release us,

let us find our rest in thee.

Israel’s strength and consolation,

hope of all the earth thou art; 

dear desire of every nation,

joy of every longing heart.

 

O to grace how great a debtor 

daily I’m constrained to be!

Let thy goodness like a fetter, 

bind my wandering heart to thee

Prone to wander Lord I feel it, 

prone to leave the God I love

Here’s my heart, O take and seal it, 

seal it for thy courts above!

 

Born thy people to deliver, 

born a child and yet a King, 

born to reign in us forever, 

now thy gracious kingdom bring. 

By thine own eternal spirit 

rule in all our hearts alone; 

by thine all sufficient merit, 

raise us to thy glorious throne.      

 

…from our fears and sins release us, 

let us find our rest in thee.

Leave a Reply

