Dangerous Songs

There are times I sing songs and don’t think through what I’m singing.

Now don’t get me wrong, I understand what the words mean, but I don’t think through how it plays out in my life.  The song we started learning this past week is a perfect example…let’s start with the 2nd verse…

Your grace abounds in deepest waters

Your sovereign hand

Will be my guide

Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me

You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

The line that jumps out to me is “where feet may fail and fear surrounds me…”  When do your feet fail and fear surround you?

So I will call upon Your name

And keep my eyes above the waves

When oceans rise My soul will rest in Your embrace

For I am Yours and You are mine

Again, the line that jumps out to me “my soul will rest in Your embrace…”  When does your soul fully rest in His embrace?

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders

Let me walk upon the waters wherever You would call me

Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander

And my faith will be made stronger In the presence of my Savior

Ok, enough beating around the bush.  When I sing this song, I remember October 5th, 2012 when my son died.  Maybe it’s the fact that another little man from our church passed away this week.  Maybe it’s just me.  I don’t know.  But what I do KNOW, is that this is a dangerous song.  When we ask God to lead us where trust has no borders and where our faith will be made stronger, we are asking for pain, hardship, persecution, suffering and even death.  Are we sure we want to sing this?

Yesterday, I had this song on repeat and sang it over and over with tears in my eyes.  I sang it because while it’s dangerous, it’s also true.  He’s never failed and He won’t stop now.  I am His and He is Mine.  And my faith has been made stronger in the presence of my Savior.  

I sing dangerous songs because life is dangerous.

I sing dangerous songs because life is dangerous and God is good.

 

Leave a Reply

